BREAKING! Former NRM MPs appointed members of the Electoral Commission


President Yoweri Museveni has made strategic decisions regarding the leadership of the Electoral Commission, retaining key figures and appointing former members of the National Resistance Movement (NRM) to crucial positions.

Justice Simon Byabakama has been retained as the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission, underscoring the President's confidence in his leadership. Additionally, Hajjati Aisha Lubega has been retained as the Deputy Chairperson of the Commission.

The term of the commissioners, which spans seven years, officially concluded a few days ago, prompting the need for new appointments. In a letter dated January 5th addressed to the Speaker of Parliament, President Museveni announced the appointment of Robert Kasule Ssebunya, a former Kyadondo East MP, and Anthony Okello, both affiliated with the NRM, to the Electoral Commission.

Anthony Okello gained notoriety for attempting to sway voters to support the removal of the age limit in 2017, an incident that reportedly led to his lynching by voters.

The appointments have sparked discussions about the potential bias within the Electoral Commission, given the political affiliations of the newly appointed members. This concern is heightened by the retention of former NRM MP Stephen Tashobya as a member of the commission.

Article 60 of the Constitution dictates a seven-year term for Electoral Commission commissioners, renewable once. However, Clause 4 of the same article specifies that the president must renew the mandate of an incumbent commissioner three months before the end of their term. As per legal requirements, Justice Byabakama and his colleagues are no longer eligible for reappointment.

The Electoral Commission, established by the Constitution, is tasked with organizing, conducting, and supervising elections and referendums. With preparations underway for the 2026 general election, the Commission is actively working on implementing its electoral roadmap, despite the questions raised about the composition of its leadership.

Comment On Story

Abusive or Prohibited content won't be published.

Previous Post Next Post